Previous Boards
Staff members

SEA Staff

Chief Executive Officer - Prof Ray Wills
Accounts Officer - Agnes Karundeng
Advisory Services Manager - Neil Prentice
Business Manager - Michael Woodhams
CTIC Business Adviser - Stephen Mawhinney
Events Manager - Catie Murray



Since its incorporation in July, 2002 the Sustainable Energy Association of Australia (SEA) - formerly the Western Australian Sustainable Energy Association Inc. (WA SEA) - has worked to support and promote the growth of the sustainable energy industry across Australia.

SEA is an enterprise level industry body, and it continues to grow its political influence and relevance, as well as its depth of business networks as we grow and frequency and diversity of business events to match the diversity of members' interests. In particular, SEA has a strong reputation in Australia for authoritative commentary and advocacy on a broad range of energy efficiency and sustainable energy issues - many examples of our contribution can be found on this website.

SEA's office has professional full-time staff working on advocacy and lobbying, and our enterprise members are obviously significant employers as well as project developers across all sectors with interests in sustainable energy.

SEA is the only industry body advocating substantive action on sustainable energy in each and every sector of industry. A core responsibility of the Association is to promote the development of sustainable energy across all sectors of Australia's economy, in all regions of Australia.

As a business chamber, membership is open to all enterprises wanting to support action on climate change through the deployment of sustainable energy solutions either as suppliers or as customers. A listing of our diverse membership is available under the Member tab above

With over 400 members, SEA is one of Australia's largest energy chambers.

An update on several SEA projects:

  • ENERGISING WA magazine published 23 February 2011, with new editions of this member-only magazine customised to each state to published in other Australian states in 2011/12.
  • ENERGISING Kids - to support the Australian Model Solar Boat and Car Challenge, a hands-on science competition engaging primary and secondary schools in a project involving renewable energy and energy efficiency developing developing their science and engineering skills to explore how to create, use and conserve energy.
  • continuation of our value chain research and mapping of barriers and opportunities in sustainable energy technology manufacturing and production; 
  • free business advice to eligible SMEs through our partnership with the Clean Technology Innovation Centre (CTIC), a part of the Federal Government's Enterprise Connect program;
  • ENERGISING SEA EXPO - the next one - a sustainable energy extravaganza 28-31 March 2012, Perth; and 
  • Facilitating a bid for 2012 to create a Sustainable Electric Transport Cooperative Research Centre (SET CRC) encompassing transport infrastructure in both urban and regional settings and inclusive of both private and public transport, as well as commercial, industrial and mining applications.


Privacy Policy
Western Australian Sustainable Energy Association Inc (WASEA) is committed to the new Australian privacy legislation in the way it collects, uses, secures and discloses personal information.
Board Members

SEA Board

Chair: Greg Denton, Director of Power, Infrastructure and Environment, WorleyParsons (Board Term - 2012)

Vice Chair: Sean Webb, Business Manager and Board member of the Western Australian Geothermal Centre of Excellence, The University of Western Australia. (Board Term - 2013)

Ordinary Members

Peter Ferguson, Executive Director, Oceania Sustainability Tax and Incentives leader and Regional Cleantech leader, Ernst & Young  (Board Term - 2013)

Kelli Friar Manager, Manager, Strategy Implementation & Integration, Horizon Power  (Board Term - 2013)

Glen Head, Principal, Love Your Job  (Board Term - 2012)

Hon Alannah MacTiernan, Alannah MacTiernan  (Board Term - 2013)

Harry Porrins, Principal, Red Cat Marketing  (Board Term - 2012)

Durmus Yildiz, Managing Director, SolarMatrix Pty Ltd.  (Board Term - 2012)

Prof Ray Wills (ex officio

Previous Boards

Previous SEA Board

Sustainable Energy Association of Australia Board elections are held at the AGM each year. Board members are elected for one or two year terms.

Previous Boards are listed below.